Sock Thursdays Are Back!

Well, for me any way. Sock Thursdays have gone from Hannah, Paula and I, to a whole crew in my absence! Seeing everyone’s socks last week gave me the biggest smile and it also made me a bit sad. I miss knitting socks but with all the craziness of surgeries, healing and not being able to wear socks, it was a bit weird. Or it was until I saw all those amazing posts and realized I was ready for another pair.


When I looked in The Yarn Bin, I realized the main reason I wasn’t knittig socks: every bit of sock yarn is ear marked for other projects, namely pullovers, all of which are on hold until my new tools arrive in 5-14 days.

You do realize you could have just gotten some sock yarn when you got new needles right?

 

I did, and though sock yarn is on the list, I can’t get any more yarn because I just don’t have room for it. The Yarn Bin has already overflowed into the Project Bin so not a scrap of yarn enters the house until I’ve done some serious de-stashing.

 

Just when it looked like I’d be missing out on another Sock Thursday, something on the edge of memory triggered my Spidey sense.(Yes. My Spidey sense not only warns me of impending danger, it also has my back in all things knitting.)

Way, way, waaay back when I was gifted my first set of DPNs(long before there was a Yarn Bin), I was also gifted 2 skeins of fancy sock yarn. This was far too fine a yarn to keep with the acrylic, so it went in my sewing basket where it lay forgotten until that very second.

wp-1471553142026.jpeg

Without wasting another moment, I cast on forΒ this free pattern by Glenna C but I have no idea what to expect. My mother in law gifted me this yarn and like most folks she likes color in a markedly different way than I do, so this should be an adventure! Socks are a pretty safe space for weird colors, since I get to wear this fabulously soft yarn but do so in the privacy of my boots πŸ™‚Β  I couldn’t be happier though: I get to knit socks for two healthy feet/legs. Here’s what things are looking like thus far.

wp-1471553149201.jpeg
This ought to keep me out of trouble until it’s time to start my pullover once more. Best of all, it contributes to my de-stashing since the key goal here is to get all my yarn down to the one bin by the end of the year. Anything that doesn’t fit, goes and anything that stays has to have a designated project. I know I’m not going to get through all of it but I’d like to give it a shot since I feel this odd sense of responsibility to the yarn I’ve been given.

 

Hush girl, too much yarn is not a bad thing.

 

Generally, I’d agree, but in this case, I feel bad for the yarn. It just isn’t me, so I have a hard time reaching for it. Someone else could be happily knitting with it and I could have a lot more space for sock yarn. Since I mostly knit for myself, my favorite yarn to reach for consists of soft plant fibers and is in what most people deem boring neutrals. In fact, I have a theory that this is why people go out of their way to give me the brightest colored yarn they can find – or if you’re my mother in law and are kindly gifting me yarn for my first pair of socks there’s somewhat of a compromise and I get the yarn pictured above πŸ™‚

I don’t have anything against color, in fact I adore it – just not on me and never in large quantities. My kind is to, for example, wear all charcoal but add a bright teal scarf. Or if I’m knitting, to add a pop of color and be done with it. I think it celebrates the color a lot more. This probably means that I should knit up all the inherited yarn into gifts, prayer shawls and stuff along those lines. This way people get to snuggle into something warm this winter, and I get a bit more space for sock yarn πŸ™‚ In the mean time, this pair of sock

8 thoughts on “Sock Thursdays Are Back!

  1. Woo hoo for the return of socks! I think you will be the only one posting about them this week though. I have been sidelined with cubital tunnel syndrome for almost two weeks now (I’ve been wearing braces all week), Alex is away for a bit while she gets used to her new job, Hannah hasn’t been heard from in awhile, Jennifer hasn’t posted about her socks lately and Stephanie was busy with Olympic knitting πŸ™‚ I really like that color and am glad that your spidey sense kicked in. I’ve also made socks out of worsted weight and dk weight. They are really meant to be house socks, but they are socks still the same. I can’t wait to get back to knitting and working on mine again πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nooooooooooo!
      I’m so sorry you’re still suffering through that 😦 I really hope I didn’t just jinx the sock group by coming back….
      I contemplated knitting some worsted weight socks but then thought they’d be more like slippers, in which case I have opinions, so I went and found a couple of patterns to have on hand since I really do need a pair of those for winter.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You absolutely did not jinx it! I’ve been thinking about some slippers for my next group of sock posts after these pair are finished. Or maybe some worsted or DK socks. There’s a pattern on Ravelry called Rose City Rollers (free) that a lot of people have been making that has been in my queue for awhile. Hand knit socks are so cozy and I can’t wait until I have this pair off the needles and ready to wear πŸ™‚ If I am healed by next week, I will let all the others know you are back in the game!

        Liked by 1 person

    2. I’ve dealt with the same problem from knitting too much, glad you’re taking a break! I still wear my brace to sleep most nights.

      Good luck with the healing! You’ll be happily knitting away soon!

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

