On Hold…

Nope, not another hiatus, though to read this blog you’d think I was off on another already πŸ™‚

I had this great vision of kicking off Sock It To Me Thursday last week, as well as kicking off this week with a post about the exciting beginning of making my own tops but

A) People are either disregarding the calendar and are on holiday mode – or we all made resolutions to spend more time with friends.

and unfortunately

B) I’ve been struggling with my favorite aunt being in a bad way right now. Like, she has 7 months left kind of bad.She’s far away and we sort of lost touch a while back and it sucks in on an epic level. I don’t even know what to say, and even if I did, I don’t think she’d want me to say it – we’re kind of Vulcan that way, so I’m not saying a thing. Instead I’m knitting her a scarf/shawl thing like the one above (I have three patterns I’m debating about but this is the general idea)Β  and sending her a bit of life that way. It’s a bit new agey but as I work on it I plan to think of all my fond memories of her and especially of how cold she was when she visited in 2008 – despite all my warnings πŸ™‚ When I send it, I’ll simply say that it’s for when she visits next time and hopefully she’ll get what I mean. It’s better that “Don’t you DARE die,” the poor woman is dealing with enough as it is.

 

So there’s been a lot of knitting, just not a lot of knit blog and zero knitting on the projects I’ve planned to start the year with. Not to worry, I have a sock pattern and Sock Thursdays will happen soon but until I get this scarf most of the way done, everything else is pretty much on hold.

Yes even the granny squares though for a while they were the only thing helping me keep it together after finding out about my aunt. It was an unplanned thing but the thought of working one something short that I could knit on auto really helped, so I started crocheting up the greens of my stash into various sized granny squares to make into a throw pillow for the couch. This is where I left off.

 

granny

 

That kind of went on hold as well when I decided to make the scarf. As I mentioned I have three patterns I’m thinking about, each with has different levels of lace going on. Now as those who read my first ever attempt with lace know, lace and I are not buddies. But I want some thing pretty, something as elegant as the grand dame my aunt is, so I’m giving it a go. I’ve tried out one of the patterns and so far so good, I just need some yarn.

 

 

greenscarf1greenscarf2

 

Part of the reason I tested out this pattern was to see if any of the worsted I have was the right kind of yarn. Surprise: nope.Β The pattern does call for worsted weight but Knitpicks worsted is a lot like the DK you get everywhere else. I’m wondering if going up a needle size would help with heavier yarn so that I can just stick with that? I like how the dark green knits, but I like the lighter color but since I don’t have enough of either, it’s time to get to a yarn shop – to exclusively buy for this project and no more. (I’m writing that out to remind me of my “no stash” goal.) The other patterns call for fingering weight yarn and thus far that seems pretty consistent everywhere so that would be a safe bet except that I’m not sure about them.

 

 

 

Not that both aren’t gorgeous (those edges!) but the only con for both is that I’ve never knit with a chart and they’re a tricky to read. I do want to learn to work with charts but I do have to get this done soon. Daphne, the pattern on the left, is feeling really good right now, but I’d like a wider scarf so that’s something to consider too.

So how’re y’all doing these in these first few weeks of 2016?

18 thoughts on “On Hold…

  1. I’ve found charts to be pretty simple to read (once you look at the key and get a quick tutorial on how to read them); I’m sure if you sit down with one for a few minutes you’d figure it out in no time. The light green scarf looks beautiful (that’s probably what I’d make personally — but, of course, you want to pick one you think your aunt would enjoy). What I’ve found with working on lace is that you just need to be mindful of the tension you’re putting on the yarn and keep it consistent. Good luck with whatever you do decide on. I’m sure it will turn out great!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dear Maggs,
    My heart felt sympathies! While I’m an only child my Father comes from a family of eighteen children so we’ve had our share of sad events when it comes to Aunts and Uncles, so I have a good idea of where you are!

    When I rush knitted a scarf for my Aunt after she very suddenly lost my Uncle (they’d been married for more than fifty years a real love story, she was devastated) I enclosed a note telling her that since I couldn’t be there to hug her in person to please think of my scarf as a cosy hug every time she wore it. Not too sentimental (I’m not fond of those comments either) but still expressing added affection. Just thought I’d mention it in case you’d like to supplement your comment about visiting you again, which I really like!

    Going up a needle size will usually work but no promises, you’ll always need to test. If you’d like some lace advice and/or additional pattern suggestions please feel free to contact me, I presume/hope you still have my email, if not you can always reach me through our website or blog.

    Good luck, and I am positive that thinking loving happy thoughts as you knit, focusing on your good memories will infuse your scarf with a warmth and uplifting energy impossible to bottle or buy!
    Thinking of you,
    Bright Blessings,
    Grey Dove

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m so sorry your family is going through this. I’ve had three deaths in the last few months in my family and it is heartbreaking 😦 I’m sure that whichever pattern you choose, she will love it. 2016 is going well so far, except for my work computer. I am going to have lots of time to knit in the coming week as I have to send it off to Fort Lauderdale and wait for everything to be transferred to a new laptop. So, yay for me for more knitting time! Big hugs to you!!!! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooh! I forgot to tell you! I have trouble knitting with charts too; however I’ve been typing out the pattern from the chart, printing it and then following the written instructions πŸ™‚ I am still not able to look at tiny squares from a chart and instinctively know exactly what I’m supposed to be knitting so it helps me to write it out πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Big hugs back! I’m so sorry, I am having a hard time just knowing how ill she is, I can’t even imagine what three deaths is like 😦
      Right now, knitting warm happy thoughts is what’s getting me through this – well that and the puzzle that are these complex leaf patterns πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Big hugs for you. I haven’t learned how to read charts yet…. even crochet charts confuse me. Maybe sit down and rewrite the chart in words? Then you have the learning curve of reading the chart but not the stress of having to read it mid knitting?

    Like

  5. Hey there Maggie, I’m sorry to hear of your aunt’s ill health. I’m beginning to think that our sock group is a bit cursed. My grandma passed in October, now my Grandpa last week. Paula has had a bad year, and now this! As for your scarf project, the shawly ones on the left look insane (pretty,yes, but mostly insane) and I would personally run away from anyone who tried to give me that pattern. I like the pattern that you tested the most, I know I am writing late to this post so I do wonder which one you chose? I also prefer charts; you can see exactly what your doing, what you’ve done and what your going to to do all at the same time! But also I have had nightmare experiences with written patterns that use odd word choices and are hard to understand, so no words means less confusion. Anyway, I just hopped on over to your blog to see if you were in. I’m happy to see you posting again. I’ve not been terribly consistent this year either, but I plan to get back to sock thursdays soon. I just feel out of whack at the minute and I’ve hardly knitted. But I have stories to tell you. Lots of love, Hannah x

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’m really sorry to hear about your grandparents 😦 That’s a really tough thing to go through – I still miss mine terribly and they’ve been gone a whole decade…

      I ended up going with a completely different patter after all that – it was just easier and I needed something I didn’t have to think about too much. It’s still half way done since surgery got in the way but the Knitting will happen – I mean at the very least I need to have some snazzy new socks for my rebuilt foot πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. Hello there! You have had such bad bad luck with that foot of yours! I hope your okay. A rebuilt foot sounds pretty cool though – I instantly think ‘BIONIC’ but I’m sure you could clear that up – do you now have a robot foot? Anyway, it’s good to hear you’re still alive and knitting and thinking about socks. I find myself thinking about knitting more than actually doing it these days – it’s probably the case for many! πŸ™‚ On a side note, about to start series 3 of Sherlock, ooohh πŸ™‚ Hannah

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooooh! Let me know what you think of the 3rd season!
      My foot is a bit long suffering. According to the doctor, it got this way because it began to heal poorly and no one caught it, thus constat re-injury. Hopefully, I can stay out of trouble until April 28th.

      Like

      1. Sherlock is so good, I’m enjoying it. I think I must have meant season 2 when I wrote that because I’ve only watched 1 episode of series 3. Benedict is the man, but I have a soft spot for Martin Freeman. Is 28th cast off day? πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

