Sock It To Me Thursday II: The Return of the Mg Socks

A quick post today since I simultaneously have and haven’t made much progress on the first of the two Monogram Socks.

As I may have explained last time, instead of an actual monogram, I’m modifying the pattern a bit and stitching a Periodic Table square onto the first sock and this makes mastering Intarsia all the more important – and that in turn make my not making things more complicated than they have to be. Between trying to dechiper the technique as explained in the pattern and the different instructions for the right and left socks, I missed the fact that the letters of the monogram weren’t knit with Intarsia, a technique to change colors without breaking the yarn or making the knitting bulky, but were stitched onto the finished sock with duplicate stitch after the sock is finished.

What’s weird is that I knit the letters beautifully, but I couldn’t for the life of me figure out how to make smooth transitions between the square and the rest of the sock. In the end, I dropped a stitch somewhere in the ribbing and I only had the bandwidth to frog the whole thing.

Now that the fracture/sprain/contusions on my lower right limb are sorted out, I had the chance to start over and I may have just gotten Intarsia… There aren’t any holes along the square yet anyway, so I’m feeling pretty good 🙂 Here’s where the sock is now:

So, how are your socks going?

What? You’ve not started a pair yet and you don’t know where to start?

Go check out some cool and well written sock patterns found on my Free Patterns Page, Or if you need some inspiration, go see what my fearless co-knitters Hannah, Paula and Alex are up to. Don’t forget to link up to us so we can ooooh and ahhhh over your progress. Join the dark side, we’ve got cookies 😉

Happy knitting!

21 thoughts on “Sock It To Me Thursday II: The Return of the Mg Socks

  1. Woo Hoo! I hadn’t realized that Alex had linked up with us or I would have added her name along with yours and Hannah’s…although she did get mentioned in my latest sock post cause I love her socks 🙂 I’m loving your second pair of socks and the colors and can’t wait to see what they look like next week! How’s the foot feeling today?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s on me, Alex joined up during the Live Knit and then the whole foot thing happened so I lapsed on having another live knit to tell y’all -sorry about that!

      My foot feels a bit better today and I have a feeling it’s going to be a long mental game for me with this. I miss doing all the things 😦 But I am blasting through my knitting so, maybe it won’t be so bad?
      What am I saying, I am knitting socks inspired by chocolate mocha cake, this is going to be awesome!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Mmm…cake 🙂 No worries! I will definitely make sure I link to Alex next time. I’m glad to hear you are feeling a little better. Keep off it as much as possible and you’ll be right as rain in no time…and have tons of knitting accomplished 🙂 Big hugs!

        Liked by 2 people

        1. I’ll keep more on top of our fearless band of knitters – there are four of us officially and a couple of other people wanting to start up some socks, which is pretty awesome!

          If I don’t have all a mostly empty Yarn Bin in three month’s time, that’s on me. MrsKirstyHoll has inspired me to do a stitch sampler blanket and then there is the three part queue – this is going to be fun 😀 Who knows, maybe I’ll be allowed to cook in six weeks or so and that will make things the rest of the way sane 🙂

          Liked by 2 people

    1. Do it! Do it! Do it! Is it weird that I think it feels marvelous to knit socks? I’ve made one pair before, but there are so many different styles and cool stuff to learn via socks that there is really no going back 🙂

      I intend to have Sock It To Me Thursday go on as long as there are socks to be knit, so join whenever and we’ll cheer you on! Also if you need any help, just ask, we can video chat and sort whatever it is out 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

              1. I contacted the company and they gave me an American address to use so that I can buy the ebook. They’re also looking into UK postage in the future so guess I’m not the only Brit to want something 🙂

                Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay! You’re back! Apologies for the delay, I’ve been out of sorts with this foot thing so I haven’t been around much, but I’m back! And delighted to accept the Sunshine Award, thank you!!! I’m off to check your post!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

