Yarn Lights Up the Hospital Staff :)

First, I wanted to send a huge hug and a thank you for all the well wishes I got on my last post.  Apologies for not responding right away, especially since they really cheered me up when I needed it the most.

So I just got back from my tour of the hospital. I checked in with my super cool and extra magical GP who took one look at my foot and knew something was wrong. Then radiology where my tech and I got to geek out about the Black Sheep Skully I’m knitting before and after x-rays, and then podiatry where more knit geekery was to be had.

My podiatrist was especially cool about the knitting. We got to compare notes about finding a LYS, needles and what kind of fibers are on our bucket lists. I gave her my list of LYS’s that I’m scoping out and she gave me some tips that made me more willing to give circulars a try for my larger projects.

For the first time ever, I’m kind of sad my GP was almost spot on. I did fracture two of the smaller bones in my foot, have several contusions on the adjacent bones and to top it all off, I have a really bad sprain.

The bad news: I am out for three months.

The good news: Well, other than the fact I finally have health insurance (as much as I like time with my knitting, I am SO glad I didn’t knit most of this in ER), is that

1) I convinced her not to put me in a cast. Instead, I got a huge boot, that I am to pretend is a cast and I am not to be on my feet for more than 15 minutes max.

2) I can knit! For the past week or so I’ve been elevating my leg so that I had to be flat on my back but now that I’m no longer freshly injured, I can sit propped up and knit to my heart’s content 😀

3) I am getting a wheel chair in a couple of days so I can go out for walks with my wife again and still get a decent cardio work out.

So with all that out of the way, it’s time to start back up on all the frogged projects from last week. The only thing that survived was The Mood Scarf so I have my work cut out for me! Maybe I’ll try to start and finish three before I catch up on the rest…

Right now, I’m just happy I know what’s going on, that there is a care plan and most importantly: that I’m knitting again. My wife has been super extra amazing so the first project I finish will be this hat, which is for her 🙂

12 thoughts on “Yarn Lights Up the Hospital Staff :)

    1. Thanks, you know it’s bad if I’m missing doing the dishes 😉 I think the knitting is going to save my sanity and my wife just came through with some modified work outs so I wont lose too much muscle – which I was what I think had me so down last week.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. So true! But that’s what friends are for – there is no seeing the silver lining that’s behind you unless one of them points it out 🙂 Christmas… I haven’t even made a list yet 0_0 I better get on that! Thankfully, we do stuff the Spanish way with both families. Christmas is for food and good company and the gifts come January 6th. Less pressure that way 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  1. Oh no, you broke your foot?! I’m so sorry. I hope you’re on the mend now.

    Confession? Broken bones are, indeed, bad. But my first thoughts? 1) “It’s not the hands, it’s not the hands!” 2) “So much knitting to be done now!” Shameful, and yet… true 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

