“Back to Square One”

This phrase and/or concept has never bothered me.

One of the things that made me an amazing researcher/scientist is that “back to square one” was exciting like reading the Choose Your Own Adventure books as a kid. And in case you’re wondering, yes, I was one of those kids who tried to read every single possible combination of adventures in those books 🙂

However hearing that come out of a doctor’s mouth last week has given me a new hatred of it.

The good news: Nothing is broken.

The bad news: I am not to put any weight on my lower right leg for six weeks.

My one issue with this is that, I thought that’s what I’d been doing for a week, but when neither the pain or the swelling were going away I found out that I was to keep my leg elevated and thus that I could do about zero things.

I know what you’re thinking: Sweet! More time for knitting!

I tried to cheer myself up with that too but then I discovered that with that level of pain, anything that I touched would also return to square one – including my Monogram Socks. Before I knew it, all my UFO’s returned to balls of yarn in the Project Bin. It was not a good week.

I’m still not entirely sure what happened. I do know that for quite a while, I wasn’t exercising because of my 12 hour school days and because I’d previously dislocated my knees and just looking at them the wrong way would cause them to dislocate again. After we got health care and I got to do extensive physical therapy, I’d gotten to the point I was running 5 miles stretches and had reached my best time in the pool – ever. (The weight loss and baggy jeans were an added bonus.) Then suddenly, I wake up in horrible pain and an ankle three times the size it should have been. It’s immensely frustrating to say the least and I was not dealing with it well at all, hence the week off.

Now because, I finally went in about my injury during the weekend, I didn’t get to see my regular doctor or my physical therapist but since the other doctor’s advice was crap and I’m still not feeling better, I’m going back in tomorrow and seeing both of them. Worst case scenario, I get some peace of mind. Best case scenario, they tell me exactly what’s wrong, that the other doctor was full of crap and to get my ass back in the pool 🙂

Hope you’re all well and that you’re owning your projects!

21 thoughts on ““Back to Square One”

    1. I’m so sorry I wasn’t there to see your first sock post 😦 I felt terrible about that.

      Thank you for the hugs and well wishes! I’m in a much better place mentally and have started casting on once more. That said, I am so ready to get back in the pool and I’m ready for my doctor’s game plan 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No worries and no need to feel bad. Life happens 🙂 I’m glad you are in a better place. I think I would go coo coo without my knitting. Have you heard anything from Hannah lately? She’s another one that I haven’t seen in awhile and have been worried about.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I’m actually quite sure that I was in a bad place because I couldn’t knit! 🙂 I know Hannah made it safely to her new place and was still trying to settle in and get things like wi-fi but I’m kind of worried too… I’m going to check in on her right after I finish typing this sentence 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 🙂 I feel kind of bad for not checking in and really bad for missing a Sock Thursday but tea seemed to be the only thing I wasn’t messing up at the time. The road ahead is long but fortunately, I have you guys to hang out with and my knitting to keep me a bit saner.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Oh no! I hope you heal super quick. Sad news about the projects, but now you get the excitement of doing them all again. And glad to read I’m not the only one who tried to read all combinations in those books 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Weren’t those books the best?! I have half a mind of asking my missus to get some from the library for when I need a break from knitting everything back up 🙂

      You’re totally right, I am really excited to start up the projects – I think I’ll have an easier time with them now I have a bit of practice 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I’m sorry you have any experience with this ankle business 😦 It will be a good while before I’m out running again but the good news is that a wheel chair is also a good bit of cardio 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

