Sock it to Me Thursday Week 2 (On Friday): Evolution

[I just realized this post is a day late! Apologies, read on and you’ll see how ended up losing a day. ] We left our clueless heroine riding high on her progress, only a bit of trepidation left about the dreaded heel because, well, it was still a few inches off. That Thursday, she knit late into the night to get from here:

Wednesday Night
Wednesday Night

to here.

Thursday Night
Thursday Night

Okay, maybe there was a bit of stalling… In addition to writing the last post, I knew I was inching closer and closer to that final frontier: the heel. That andย  I just can’t resist all the cool knitting blogs on here ๐Ÿ™‚ Friday, however, was the day. I woke up ready and since I had a bit of time that evening (The Spouse was out with her mates) I was determined to turn the heel.

You know your spouse loves you when she gets out of bed in the wee hours of Saturday, shortly after falling asleep, to join your victory dance. At first I thought I’d keep going, I was so excited – and then I saw the instructions for the gussets become blurry and erred on calling it a day. I was determined to finish this part of the pair on Tuesday and maybe have whole pair to show you today, but this is where the title comes in. As this first sock evolves, so does the knitter.

Sunday, I got a spiffy new notebook and hurried to get caught up on it before proceeding further. Sounds pretty dull right? Nope. It was fascinating, I went back and forth between the pattern, my notes and the sock to accurately document my procedure and all of a sudden, I understood. The pattern went from being a leap of faith to a map and I could see the sock forming. Granted, the gussets scared me far more than turning the heel ever did but I knew how it worked. It was amazing! I felt like the people in the Matrix that can go back and forth between the code and the scene before them – it was absolutely thrilling!!!

All guilt about not having knit on Sunday evaporated Monday when I realized that taking that time out was the best call ever. There are three things I don’t do: windows, talk on the phone or multi-task. So what did I end up doing on Monday? I’d been dreading Monday because I’d scheduled the day to talk to the student loan people with respect to both of our student loans and this was going to take a while. I’d been on hold for about five minutes when I saw my project bag and before I knew it I found myself knitting, taking notes on knitting, typing and talking on the phone. Not surprisingly, that afternoon (when all was said and done), I discovered I had the wrong number of stitches. I retraced my steps, carefully undid the last 10 rows and went back. Then I knit like a mad woman to get back to where I left off.

6_Gussets

Tuesday I woke up and I couldn’t move my left hand. I immediately flashed back to a moment when I awkwardly held the phone between my ear and shoulder as went back and forth between knitting and awkwardly typing. I knew I tweaked something but got caught up in fixing my mistake and didn’t stretch it out. I was reduced to R.I.C.E and listening to audio books as all my UFO’s peaked up from various placed in my living room. Lesson learned. Next time, I just need to wait until things are crossed off the list before knitting. Wednesday, I was back but decided to take it easy and only knit for about an hour. Today I managed to get to the next color change but am no where near done unfortunately. Still, I think it’s looking pretty good, slow and steady as it’s going.

Right this minute.
Right this minute.

I’m still really amped – it looks like a sock!!! Not only that though, I feel like I’ve evolved a great deal as a knitter with this project. Mostly, I think I’ve learned a better way to knit, not only technique-wise but I think I understand patterns, what works for me and more importantly to just have better instincts about the process. It’s pretty cool. And the gussets are done at last, so onward!

28 thoughts on “Sock it to Me Thursday Week 2 (On Friday): Evolution

  1. Impressive stuff! I just knew you would have found a way to speed that sock along, unlike myself. Which works out for me, I get to use your photos as my visual guide! The heel looks great, love that block of light blue at the back. Congrats on your knitting revelations! I haven’t cracked the code yet for the heel flap, but I remember when I learnt how to fix slipped stitches, with my own clever head! There is a show on at the moment called Child Genius, where a bunch of mensa kids compete in rounds of academic questions to be titled child genius of the year. It’s around the point when the maths questions get asked that I begin my righteous heckling, to the TV screen no less, shouting “BET YOU CAN’T KNIT THOUGH CAN YOU?” Along with “I made a cake today WITHOUT a recipe, bet you have to buy every cake you eat!” and “how is memorizing pi to the 120 decimal point going to help you in life? It’s already written down.” Then I remember they are just ten year old children.

    You are a sock genius. I will learn to be.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Oh no, I am by no means any kind of genius – how do you pick up dropped stitches?!!! I need to learn that – that’s part of what caused my delay on Monday and I had to catch said stitch (loving having two pairs of DPN’s) and then unravel until I caught up to it.

    I think you’ve made great progress, your sock looks amazing and as I learned this week, good things come to those who are patient.

    Like

    1. Hmm..how to explain picking up dropped stitches…it is a bit like crochet, if you have ever done that. Looping one chain into another so they lock. I am sure there will be a you tube tutorial out there! Sometimes I think it is just quicker to unravel when fixing, if it saves you from the stress. I had to unravel about ten rows of accidental stitches, but first I tried changing purl to knit and the knit to purl by dropping the stitches and picking them back up, but it was too much work so I stuck with what I knew, and I think it was quicker in the end to just unravel. Thanks for your kind words, I think I do most of my sock knitting on Thursday now. Like homework, do it on the day it is due. But knitting socks is more fun. Way more fun.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, that sounds really complicated, so I think the fact you figured it out makes you the sock genius here ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m so glad we’re doing this, I would never have gotten as far as I have (read: ever started) if we hadn’t done this knit along. I’m pretty slow going, so I try to knit a bit every day. Hopefully, I’ll gain a bit more speed since I’d like to do a pair of socks per month.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations!!!!! Both on the progress you’ve made and the anatomy of a sock clicking into place! I know you are going to have lots of fun with them.

    I’ll take a stab at explaining picking up a stitch in a note to you, … probably later this weekend.

    Look after your hand, knitting to the point of pain is not fun, … I do it every Christmas.

    Enjoy the foot (the sock’s that is) and look forward to hearing about your toe!

    Affectionately,
    Grey Dove

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! My hand is why I never got back to you Tuesday, unfortunately. I write with my right but I can’t type for anything without my left hand, it’s kind of weird. Not to worry though, I have plenty of questions/hand written notes for an email this weekend ๐Ÿ™‚

      My hand felt a little odd, but nothing major – now I know to watch out for that, especially when knitting socks, which has become kind of addicting! I’m elated that I understand the anatomy and the workings of the pattern but with understanding comes the temptation to change things. Fortunately, I don’t feet at all confident to improvise from the recipe yet and while I knot my socks won’t be exactly the same, I am still going to try for that!

      Like

  4. I’m a touch typist so the idea of typing without both hands boggles my mind.

    No worries, send along your questions and we’ll get to them. I’m a bit tied up sorting out a monthly feature the site and blog do together so correspondence is again a casualty but that’s set to go live tomorrow and Sunday so things should be “calmer” again after that.

    I’d suggest hanging in there and sticking with the recipe a little longer, you’ll know when it is time to let yourself go.

    Be in touch soon,
    Affectionately,
    Grey Dove

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can key in data with one hand and type that way if I absolutely have to, but it goes s o o s l o w l y.

      I’m looking forward to the monthly feature – so I’ll hold all my questions etc until then. And I promise to be good until both socks are on my feet ๐Ÿ˜€ Then I’ll try a few more styles of heels and gussets before taking off on my own.

      Like

  5. Great progress, both on sock and on you as a knitter! Sorry to hear about the hand. I too think gussets are the more challenging part and have no idea about why everyone goes on about heel turns being hard.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ladies, if you so detest gussets may I suggest it is time to explore the short-row heel!?! No Gussets!

      I can’t say gussets ever bothered me but I always found them a drag, all those stitches! I’ll admit finishing the heel and having precisely the same number of stitches as I did when I began it, and being able to carry on straight down the foot has great appeal. It may make you even happier (not sure if that is possible Maggs) sock knitters!!!

      Grey Dove
      PS Baby socks are a great way to try a new pattern, or technique without taking forever to make/try it, and still have a useable garment at the end. (I so dislike working on something only to rip it out after I’ve successfully completed it.) May be a good way to play with different heel and toe construction techniques.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It might be possible to make me a happier sock knitter, but I think that just means knitting more socks ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll check the patterns I have for short-row heels and try them on for size.

        Like

    1. It weirdly wasn’t that bad. I took notes, and I think that helped me focus enough to get through it okay. You should join us for the sock knit along! It’s a great place to try stuff out and a couple of us are knitting the gusset-heel turn style socks for the first time.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s the think with me, socks have to be completely mindless to work (remember, I’m *not* a sock knitter) so I think I might get Second Sock Syndrome if I make it too complicated…

        Having said this, when is the sock-a-long?

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I think gusset-heel turns are about 80% mindless – I think you’ve got this! That said, if you decide on another kind of sock, or want to knit the same socks, you should still come hang out. The sock-a-long is on Thursdays. We all write up a post on our progress and link to the others.

          Also, I’m not a sock knitter either – I don’t think I get to call myself one until I’ve knit oh, at least five socks ๐Ÿ˜‰

          Like

          1. Have you ever thought of doing a VKN (virtual knit night) on Google Hangouts? I’m too inconsistent for regular posts, but I’d love a VKN…
            Nooooo, I think one needs at least twenty pair of socks to be a sock knitter (I’m in denial, I know) ๐Ÿ˜

            Liked by 1 person

            1. Let’s split the difference, 10 pairs…of different socks?

              I’d love to do a VKN – I’ve never done it but it sounds really cool ๐Ÿ˜€ I’ll put the word out on this Sock It To Me Thursday and see if we can’t make it happen next week!

              Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

