Revisiting the Rules: 1 Month of Mood Scarf

June 20th marked the first month anniversary of the Mood Scarf!

I came across this project via a BuzzFeed and was immediately hooked. I traced the Mood Scarf to the amazing blog of Jem Weston, who kicked off a knit-along with said project last year.

I’d thought to start the scarf on my birthday, but only managed to wait a week after getting the yarn. It’s a bit hard to tell but the first mood I knit was Weird. It was a seriously weird day and I thought to myself “I might not get another chance to use this lovely yarn. Ha!

The picture above is actually 34 days of knitting and surprisingly long for only being a twelfth of the way through.

As you can see, the past 34 days have seen a bit of everything, and they’ve prompted me to take another look at the rules. Originally I decided to:

  1. Knit three rows per day
  2. Rows could be different colors but each row could only be one color.
  3. If I turned the day around, the knitting would turn as well

Lately however, I’ve had some pretty weird days, but you wouldn’t know it given the multi-colored yarn I’m using for Weird.

WeirdYarn2
Weird Yarn

It’s a gorgeous yarn with a subtle blue candy stripe but the main color changes aren’t as I thought they’d be and I’ve ended up with a change mid-row or having a hard time telling that it was weird at a glance.

The variation for the next several yards.
The variation for the next several yards.

Part of me kind of likes that, it makes the scarf a bit more mine in a strange way, however the experimentalist in me decided toΒ  try a month of knitting Weird in the opposite stitch so I can appreciate the yarn a bit more. To clarify, Weird, is not “good” or “bad”, it just is and I wanted to take time out to appreciate that life is strange and that this keeps things interesting.

The latest bit of Weird.
The latest bit of Weird.

Normally, I’d feel a bit guilty about changing the rules – or at the very least be upset that the change in methodology would skew the end result but on June 19th, I just went for it and it felt wonderful. I think this project is making me more adventurous when it comes to knitting and that’s kind of amazing for this perfectionist πŸ™‚

At the very least it gives me a lot of perspective.

Was the day really 3 rows of Distress when on the 18th hour The Spouse surprises me with dinner? Conversely, hanging out with a good friend over really amazing sushi, doesn’t change that it was the last time we may get to see each other for quite some time. The scarf simultaneously keeps me honest (I can’t dismiss a week as being horrible when I see rows of Joy and Copacetic in it), and makes me second guess myself when I want to knit an entire day one color. It takes some convincing when I feel like knitting three rows of Dejected or Distressed – and I have to admit that I don’t want to jinx myself with three rows of Joy. Weird, on the other hand, doesn’t get a moment’s hesitation, which I shouldn’t be too surprised at since that’s how my scarf started.

Depending on the side of the scarf I’m looking at, there are bumps along the way or dips and that gets really meta in a texture kind of way. As I write that I feel even better about changing the way I knit Weird. Weird gives life a bit of texture and now, I can show that with my knitting.

10 thoughts on “Revisiting the Rules: 1 Month of Mood Scarf

  1. Your scarf looks beautiful – I’m happy my project inspired you!

    What you said about it making you honest and not dismissing a week as horrible is interesting. We humans have a tendency to remember the bad things more than the good. I was really pleasantly surprised by how few sad days I had on my scarf even when I thought times were quite bad! It’s great to look back at after a year!

    I also like that your 3 rows for the day can be different – I sometimes struggled to decide on one mood as sometimes you have a great day followed by an awful evening, or vice versa.

    Enjoy mood knitting! X

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Humans are funny creatures πŸ™‚ I’m quick to want to say a week was horrible but when I’m knitting for the evening, and it’s been a hard day, I find myself saying “C’mon, something good must have happened… Anything? Bueller?”

      I’m crediting you with my inspiration to make the rows potentially three different colors. When I found your blog, I read all your posts on the Mood Scarf and decided that I might be too moody for just one color a day πŸ™‚ When I’m stuck I just think about the day as three separate 8hr periods and pick a color for each – yeah, I kinda went a little nuts with the project πŸ™‚ Thank you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

